Back to top

What subjects can I study?

At Archway Sixth Form, you will have a choice of around 25 A-Level and vocational (BTEC Level 3) subjects providing a wide range of options whatever your aspirations. We are the only post-16 provider in the Stroud area to offer this blend of traditional academic and vocational qualifications.  

In addition to this, Year 13 students can choose to undertake the Extended Project Qualification (EPQ). This is the equivalent of an AS Level and gives you the opportunity to produce a piece of work that’s truly individual, whether it’s a written research report, event, or creative artefact. As an EPQ is an independent research project it is also an excellent taster of university-style learning. 

We ensure that the subjects on offer here can open the door of any UK university, and our students have gone on to achieve all over the country be it at university, college or through apprenticeships.  

What is an A Level?

Advanced level qualifications (known as A-levels) are subject-based qualifications that can lead to university, further study, training, or work. At Archway you can study three or four A-levels over two years. They’re usually assessed by a series of examinations, although many also include an element of coursework.

What is a BTEC/Cambridge National?

BTECs and Cambridge Nationals are specialist work-related qualifications that can lead to university, further study, training, or work. These courses combine practical learning with subject and theory content. They have a higher content of coursework than most A-Levels, but there is also an examined element.

Please click the buttons below for further information